Press release: The Magnificent ‘Bad Lucky’

The Magnificent are a punk rock trio from West Yorkshire, England. We sing about stuff that affect our lives. Important things like coal mining, Royal Weddings, the decline of modern civilisation, cutting down trees, playing squash and being in love.

Our new album ‘Bad Lucky’ is our second full LP. There is a lot of global unrest at the moment, and people of our generation don’t know what to do with their lives. The album is about how a generation struggles to emulate the feats of their parents, ‘the baby boomers’. Everyone is poor these days and everyone struggles to meet the cost of living. The album is about being born into a world ruled by economics that no-one truly understands or has control of.

‘The Mags’ started in 2007 and the current line-up is Matt (guitar, vocals), Jimmy (bass, vocals) and Charlie (drums). Our first LP ‘Pay The Crimes’ came out on Boss Tuneage in 2009. Since then, we have had the pleasure of playing with some of our favourite bands; Leatherface, Hot Water Music, D4, The Bomb, Snuff, Chuck Ragan, Noise By Numbers, Bangers, to name a few. We get compared to The Clash, Rancid, Pinhead Gunpowder, Stiff Little Fingers, Billy Bragg and Social Distortion. We like this.

We are a DIY band and do all of our touring in our spare time, in our holidays and we manage ourselves. We even wrote this press release.

Album info:


1. 1981
2. Foreign Legion
3. Song For Lauren
4. Working Men’s Club (Part 3)
5. Hold My Drink Up High
6. BBQ & Grasshoppers
7. Longshot
8. Buy More Crap
9. Walk A Mile In My Jeans
10. King Of The Denim Jackets

Jimmy Islip: Vocals / Bass Guitar
Matt Colmer: Vocals / Guitar
Charlie Batten: Drums

Backing vocals on track 2 and 9 by Mark Magill from Down & Outs
Vocals on track 3 by Lauren LoPiccolo
Vocals on track 4 by Denis Buckley, formely of 88 Fingers Louie
Backing vocals on track 5 by Jeff Pezzati and Jeff Dean of Naked Raygun and The Bomb
Hammond Organ on track 3 by Rob Taylor.

Recorded and mixed at Million Yen Studios, Chicago by Jeff Dean in October 2010 / January 2011, with additional recording at Whitewood Studios, Liverpool with Robert Whiteley. Mastered by Joe Osborne. Artwork by Ben Whittington.

Contact / media

Write to us at
Band website:
twitter @paythecrimes
See the video for ‘1981’ below;

‘Bad Lucky’ is released via Drunken Sailor Records / Just Say No To Government Music Records in the UK, in Japan via Eager Beaver Records and in the USA by Dirt Cult Records.

Drunken Sailor Records:
Just Say No To Government Music Records:
Eager Beaver Records:
Dirt Cult Records:

For more copies of this CD and their previous release ‘Pay The Crimes’ please contact :

(Worldwide) Andy Higgins at justsaynotogovernmentmusic on

For copies of the vinyl please contact :

(UK / Europe) Julian at Drunken Sailor on
(US) Chris at Dirt Cult on
(Japan) Akihiro at EAGER BEAVER RECORDS on

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top